Argonne National Laboratory Transportation Technology R&D Center DOE Logo
Argonne Home >  Transportation Technology R & D Center >

Battery Technologies Experts

Click on a highlighted name to see a full résumé.

Jeff Chamberlain, Manager, Battery Technology Department
phone: 630/252-6055, e-mail: jchamberlain@anl.gov

  • Physical Chemistry, Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology, 1993
  • Chemistry, B.S., Wake Forest University, 1988
  • 11 U.S. patents issued and several patents pending for semiconductor and water treatment processing chemicals and quartz-crystal-microbalance-based mineral processing devices.

Khalil Amine, Group Leader, Technology Development
phone: 630/252-3838, fax: 630/252-4176, e-mail: amine@anl.gov

  • PhD, Materials Science, University of Bordeaux; Bordeaux, France
  • Develop advanced battery systems for hybrid electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles
  • 190 publications and 40 patents

Ira D. Bloom, Manager, Electrochemical Analysis and Diagnostics Laboratory
phone: 630/252-4516, fax: 630/972-4516, e-mail: bloom@anl.gov

  • PhD, Inorganic Chemistry, University of Chicago
  • Overall management and direction of independent testing and evaluation of advanced battery and fuel cell technologies
  • 62 publications, 9 patents, 98 presentations, 50 proceedings articles

Dennis W. Dees, Group Leader, Engineering Research
phone: 630/252-7349, fax: 630/972-4520, e-mail: dees@anl.gov

  • PhD, Chemical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley
  • 25+ years of experience in theoretical and experimental aspects of electrochemistry and electrochemical engineering
  • Extensive experience in advanced battery and fuel cell technologies
  • 7 patents and 10 journal articles

Michael M. Thackeray, Group Leader, Materials Research
phone: 630/252-9184, fax: 630/252-4176, e-mail: thackeray@anl.gov

  • PhD, Chemistry, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • 180 publications, 28 patents, and 100+ contract reports

Daniel Abraham, Materials Engineer
phone: 630/252-4332, fax: 630/972-4406, email: abraham@anl.gov

  • PhD, Metallurgical Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Develop diagnostic tools to determine capacity- and power-fade mechanisms in advanced batteries for hybrid electric vehicles
  • 12 publications on lithium-ion battery-related research

John K. Basco, Engineering Specialist Sr., Electrochemical Analysis and Diagnostics Laboratory
phone: 630/252-7627, fax: 630/972-4418, e-mail: jkbasco@anl.gov

  • BS, Information Technology, Capella University
  • Overall operation of independent testing and evaluation of advanced battery and fuel cell technologies
  • 35 publications

Ilias Belharouak, Materials Scientist and Battery Specialist
phone: 630/252-4450, fax: 630/252-4176, e-mail: belharouak@anl.gov

  • Develop high-power and high-energy lithium-ion batteries for hybrid electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles
  • 5 patents, 40 peer-reviewed publications, 70 technical presentations

Zonghai Chen, Chemist
phone: 630/252-6551, fax: 630/252-4176, e-mail: chenz@anl.gov

  • PhD, Chemistry, Dalhousie University, Canada
  • Development of advanced electrolytes for lithium-ion batteries with improved power, life and abuse tolerance.
  • 32 peer-reviewed publications, 5 patent applications

Andrew N. Jansen, Chemical Engineer
phone: 630/252-4956, fax: 630/972-4461, e-mail: jansen@anl.gov

  • PhD, Chemical Engineering, University of Florida
  • Develop high-power and energy density electrochemical storage systems for hybrid electric vehicles
  • 21 peer-reviewed publications, 44 proceedings and extended abstracts, 1 book chapter, 1 patent

Christopher S. Johnson, Chemist
phone: 630/252-4787, fax: 630/252-4176, e-mail: johnsoncs@anl.gov

  • PhD, Inorganic Chemistry, Northwestern University
  • Synchrotron spectroelectrochemical studies
  • Synthesis and characterization of advanced lithium battery electrodes
  • 51 publications, 32 technical presentations, 1 patent

Joseph E. Kulaga, Computer Scientist, Electrochemical Analysis and Diagnostic Laboratory and Information Systems Group
phone: 630/252-4327, fax: 630/972-4464, e-mail: kulaga@anl.gov

  • MS, Computer Science, Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Real-time computer systems design and development, divisional computer support
  • 17 publications, 6 presentations, 17 proceedings articles

Paul Nelson, Chemical Engineer
phone: 630/252-4503, fax: 630/252-4176, e-mail: nelson@anl.gov

  • PhD, Chemical Engineering, Northwestern University
  • Battery design and hybrid electric vehicle simulation modeling

Pano Prezas, Electrical Engineer
phone: 630/252-3360, fax: 630/972-4422, e-mail: prezas@anl.gov

John T. Vaughey, Chemist
phone: 630/252-8885, fax: 630/252-4176, e-mail: vaughey@anl.gov

  • PhD, Inorganic Chemistry, Northwestern University
  • Synthesis, characterization, and assessment of new materials for lithium and lithium-ion batteries
  • 115 publications, 226 presentations, 25 patents/applications

Lee K. Walker, Engineering Specialist, Electrochemical Analysis and Diagnostics Laboratory
phone: 630/252-4235, fax: 630/252-4176, e-mail: lee.walker@anl.gov

  • BS, Electrical Engineering, Northern Illinois University
  • Independent testing and evaluation of advanced battery and fuel cell technologies

Zhengcheng Zhang, Chemist
phone: 630/252-7868 , fax: 630/252-4176, e-mail: zhangz@anl.gov

  • PhD, Polymer Chemistry/Physics, Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Beijing, China
  • Synthesis and development of new organic electrolyte systems and electrolyte additives

UChicago Argonne LLC | U.S. DOE Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map