Argonne National Laboratory Transportation Technology R&D Center DOE Logo
Argonne Home >  Transportation Technology R & D Center >

Argonne researchers recipients of 2012 McFarland Award

Michael Duoba and Thomas Wallner both Mechanical Engineers in the Energy Sciences Division received McFarland Awards from the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) for their work in the Advanced Power Sources committee.

Michael Duoba. As an organizer of the Advanced Hybrid Vehicle Powertrains Session at the SAE World Congress he succeeded in growing the session to one of the largest of the committee with outstanding attendance and feedback from the conference attendees. Only through his extraordinary commitment and dedication were the organizers able to handle the large numbers of papers submitted to this session every year.

Thomas Wallner made outstanding contributions to SAE through his work in the Advanced Power Sources (APS) Committee and efforts on organizing Hydrogen Engine sessions at the SAE Congress and the SAE Fuels and Lubricant Meetings. He has been one of the most active members of the APS committee for years, before becoming a Vice-Chair and subsequently a Chair of APS in 2010.

His enthusiasm and energy are infectious. A combination of this and excellent organizational skills makes him an effective leader, always ready to offer innovative solutions. In addition to his own contributions, he helped engage a number of volunteers from national labs in the work of APS.

The McFarland Award recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions toward the work of the SAE Engineering Meetings Board (EMB) in the planning, development and dissemination of technical information through technical meetings, conferences and professional development programs or outstanding contributions to the EMB operations in facilitating or enhancing the interchanges of technical information.

The award was established in 1979, this award is administered by the EMB and honors the late Forest R. McFarland who was himself an outstanding session organizer, a chairman of the Passenger Car Activity and a member of the EMB. Funding for this award is through a bequest by Mr. McFarland to SAE and consists of a framed certificate presented at the SAE World Congress.

UChicago Argonne LLC | U.S. DOE Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map